Concert I: La musique de la chambre

The first concert of the 2019-2020 Concert Season will feature violin sonatas, viola da gamba sonatas, and trio sonatas by French composers. Among the composers on the program is Jean-François Dandrieu, a composer and organist lauded by his contemporaries. After his death, his music fell into obscurity. Combining an Italianate compositional style with French flavor, Dandrieu’s Trio Sonata and Violin Sonata are sure to remind you of Corelli and Handel.

Many of the pieces selected for this program were likely heard in the apartments of Versailles and other noble houses throughout France. Musical engravers and printers in France were one of the most important sources for disseminating music throughout the country. The sources for many of the pieces on this program are their seventeenth- and eighteenth-century printings.

The concert will be presented using Baroque strings and continuo instruments.

François Couperin, Concert No. 1 in G from Concerts Royaux
Marin Marais, Suite No. 1 in d from Pièces de viols, Livre IV
Jean-François Dandrieu, Violin Sonata in G, Op. 2, No. 3
Jacquet de la Guerre, Violin Sonata in d
Jean-François Dandrieu, Trio Sonata in g, Op. 1, No. 3

Admission: $5 (advance), $7 (at the door)

Program Booklet: download here.


Sep 20 2019


7:00 pm - 9:00 pm




First Lutheran Church (Winthrop)


First Lutheran Church (Winthrop)
213 Hennepin St N, Winthrop, MN 55396

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.