Seasons of Angels (2001)


Harmony of the Spheres

This CD was recorded in the acoustically stunning chapel of the Saint Paul Seminary in Saint Paul, Minnesota. It features motets, Gregorian chants, and spiritual songs which extol the virtues of various creatures of flight, highlighted by several works from Spanish Renaissance composer Francisco Guerrero. This recording demonstrates the ensemble’s ability to sing as individual soloists as well as a splendidly blended choir. Includes two of the most beautiful spiritual songs by the famous 12th-century nun, Hildegard von Bingen.

Please note that this CD is no longer available and will not be reprinted.

Out of stock


Track List

1. Maria Magdalene Francisco Guerrero (1528-1599) 7:37
2. Introitus: Signum magnum plainchant, mode VII 2:30
3. Ave Virgo Sanctissima Francisco Guerrero 3:30
4. Alleluya Anon. (English, 15th c.) 2:43
5. Antiphon:O Gloriosissimi lux Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) 6:09
6. Veni Creator Spiritus Gilles Binchois (c.1400-1460) 2:06
7. Introitus: Gaudeamus omnes plainchant, mode I 2:48
8. Offertorium: Benedicite Dominum plainchant, mode I
9. Communio: Angeli, Archangeli plainchant, mode II 2:21
10. Duo Seraphim Francisco Guerrero 3:53
11. Herr, wenn ich nur dich habe Samuel Scheidt (1587-1654) 3:36
12. Stabat iuxta Christi crucem Codex las Huelgas (Spanish, 13th-14th c.) 7:09
13. Responsory: O Nobilissima viriditas Hildegard von Bingen 4:35
14. Salve, salve, virgo pia 2:15
15. Laude novella Anon. Italian Laude (13th c.) 2:52
16. Salve Salus Mundi Johann Joseph Fux (1660-1741) 4:16
17. Laudate Dominum Francisco Guerrero 3:43

Total Program Length: 63:23



“The four motets by Francisco Guerrero…demonstrate the strengths of the Rose Ensemble.  Their intonation, balance and phrasing all work together to produce performances of the highest caliber….”

– Brewer, American Record Guide, September/October 2009

Additional information

Weight2 oz