s@H Episode 7: Locatelli Concerto Grosso

Join us from the comfort of your home as we launch our Fall 2020 “Season At Home” series!

Today’s Concerto Grosso by Pietro Locatelli is quite different from the on we performed by William Boyce. Locatelli calls for four solo players (two violins, a viola, and cello) plus the larger group of players. As you’ll see, the “larger group” for this performance isn’t as large as we’d like to make sure we don’t have more than 10 people in the room at a time. We’re throwing that up to adapting with the times: for now.

The third movement, minuet with variations, is quite stunning requesting the players use pizzacato (plucking) and mutes. These techniques aren’t unheard of in Baroque music, but they are most definitely rare. We think you’ll love this piece. You can download our eProgram by clicking on the icon below.


Pietro Locatelli, Concerto Grosso in E-Flat Op. 4, No. 10

I. Adagio
II. Allegro
III. Minuetto con variazioni

Miriam Scholz-Carlson and Ginna Watson, solo violins
Cheryl Zylla, solo viola
Elizabeth York, violin
Maryne Mossey, violoncello
Michelle Wenderlich, contrabass
Michael Thomas Asmus, harpsichord


La Grande Bande’s Season At Home is made possible by a grant from the Carl & Verna Schmidt Foundation and by the generous Regular and Sustaining Contributions from you. Thank you for your continued support!


Event image: Jan Miense Molenaer, Self-portrait with family members (1635). Frans Hals Museum, Haarlem, Netherlands, on loan from Cultural Heritage Agency of the Netherlands


Nov 27 2020


All of the day



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.